Medical Staff Portal
Medical Staff Associations

Bonnyville Health Centre Medical Staff Association

The medical staff in each Covenant Health facility have established a medical staff association to facilitate the engagement and participation of the medical staff in practitioner-related matters, and the fulfilment of the responsibilities and duties of practitioners. The medical staff associations are the representative bodies of Practitioners in matters related to the Covenant Health Medical Staff Bylaws and Rules. The medical staff associations shall be governed by their own constitution. (see Coventant Health Bylaws 2.9 – Facility Medical Staff Association). A medical staff association executive committee is formed from the membership, consisting of hospital physicians including the president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer.

The medical staff association executive strives to represents the best interests of the medical staff association membership. The executive team works to facilitate communication and liaise with the hospital administration to promote positive outcomes. They advocate for physicians through inclusion, leadership development and the promotion of a workplace that values integrity, research, learning, teaching, clinical excellence and the communication of knowledge. They would like to hear your opinions and your ideas for the medical staff association. Please feel free to contact your respective facility's medical staff association executive.


Welcome Message from the President

From the desk of Dr. Travis Webster

Welcome to the Bonnyville Medical Staff Committee. We are very fortunate in Bonnyville to have an engaged and cohesive Physician group that actively participate in improving health care provision to our patients. 

The group is comprised of Physicians from the Bonnyville Medical Clinic and the Bonnyville Health Centre. There is a President, Vice President and Secretary. In addition to this there are roles in the Medical Advisory Committee, Recruitment, Ethics, Primary Care Network, Quality Assurance and Antimicrobial Stewardship.

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our facility. 

BMSC Leadership and Contacts

Elected Leadership

Dr. Travis Webster                  Medical Director/ Program Lead Acute Care         

Dr. Stefan Steyn                      President BMSC/ Recruitment

Dr. Leigh-Anne Smith            Vice President

Vacant                                      Secretary

Dr. Stefan Palkowski              Program Lead, Emergency Services

Dr. Cecile Lavoie                    Program Lead, OR/ Anesthesia/ Specialty Clinics

Dr. Tharine van Deventer      Program Lead, Obstetrics

Dr. Annerie Britz                      Quality Assurance


Bonnyville Recruitment Committee Wins RPAP Award for Best Recruitment Committe in Rural Alberta - View Here

BMSC President Alumni:

  • Current - Dr. Stefan Steyn
  • 2016-2018 - Dr. Webster
  • 2014-2016  - Dr van der Watt
  • 2012-2014 - Dr De Freitas
  • 2010-2011 - Dr van Deventer
  • 2008-2009 - Dr De Freitas
  • 2007 - Dr. van Deventer
  • 2006 - Dr. Ndovi
  • 2002-2005 - Dr. Ruiter